Google Mis-Matching Domain Content on Shared IP’s

Michael Gray

By Michael Gray
In SEO  

Print Post Print Post Email Post Email Post    ADD TO STUMBLEUPON Sphinn It ADD TO DEL.ICIO.US  Tweet This

I’m not entirely sure what’s going on here but I can tell you it’s significantly wierd. I can’t say exactly why it’s happening but it looks like Google is mixing the content for different domains from completely different owners if they share an IP. For example on Google search for [ibmg.net] you’ll see the correct domain listed but the content is “hogmania wild boar hunting in texas” from Hogamania.com.

Looking at the cache we see the hogmania.com content

Click to Enlarge

Now if we go and look at Hogamania.com it looks legit, but it’s not clear why that content in the cache for ibmg.net, but they do share an IP.

Let’s look at another example [www.pawlakfuneralhome.com]. For some reason it’s showing the content of the Bodega Bay Website

Click to Enlarge

Looking at the cache we see the Bodega Bay website info. However looking at pawlak funeral home and Bodega Bay it just doesn’t feel like someone is spamming on purpose. However they are both on the same IP [69.36.163.99]

If we look at [sharkrodeo.com] we see the information listed for traininginfusion.com listed in the cache .

Click to Enlarge

That IP 69.36.163.99 is being used for the websites again. If you’ve got answer for this please drop something in the comments. Hey Matt Cutts or any of you other Google folk is something amiss here, or is there some major spammin’ & jammin’ going on?

Related posts:

  1. Domain Diversity in Google SERP’s For Breaking News One of my
  2. How Google Treats Trusted Sites Differently With Duplicate Content One of the
  3. Yes Virginia You Can Hurt Yourself With Duplicate Content So last we

Crazyegg Link Tracking

{ 4 trackbacks }

Davilac.net » Google confundiendo dominios en IP compartida
May 5, 2006 at 3:26 am
GoogleWatchBlog
May 7, 2006 at 11:37 pm
Matt Cutts: Gadgets, Google, and SEO » MEGO
May 9, 2006 at 11:47 pm
Digest bookmarks! » Daily Links
May 10, 2006 at 8:26 pm

{ 13 comments }

Matt Cutts May 5, 2006 at 11:31 am

The vast majority of the time that two sites on the same IP get confounded, it’s an issue with the webhost not configuring virtual hosts correctly. The last two times I checked into reports like this, both turned out to be misconfigured virtual hosts.

The detailed answer is that Googlebot supports HTTP 1.1 which allows for virtual hosts. So e.g. we’d go to 69.36.163.99 and request “Host: http://www.ibmg.net” or whatever. It’s up to your webhost’s web server to return the content for ibmg.net. 99.99% of the time that happens correctly, but sometimes the webhost misconfigures something. Sometimes the webhost is trying to do something sneaky, but usually it’s a simple mistake.

I’ll ask the crawl/index folks to double-check though.

I’ll ask to be sure though.

Aaron Pratt May 5, 2006 at 3:12 pm

Now that is customer service!

Matt Cutts May 5, 2006 at 6:13 pm

The crawl team dug into this and verified that it looks like a server-side bug with that IP/webhost.

Administrator May 5, 2006 at 6:26 pm

I submitted a ticket this afternoon with these details, it got kicked up to higher level technician. Still in the system.

Thanks for checking it out, I’ll post an update when I get more info.

vex May 5, 2006 at 11:02 pm

this use to happen to adultfriendinder.com too before.

IrishWonder May 6, 2006 at 10:42 am

Good eye Gray – and great and timely explanation Matt! Hehe it surely pays to be on Matt’s blackhat RSS list ;-)

Chris_D May 7, 2006 at 8:56 am

So Matt – does this also explain the image search issue Michael posted at http://www.threadwatch.org/node/6334 ?

Administrator May 8, 2006 at 5:39 pm

Update hosting company acknowledges the problem and has a technician working on on it. Will post updates.

It’s annoying not being able to repost the hosting companies response but they have all sort of legal disclaimers at the bottom complicating the issue.

Matt Cutts May 8, 2006 at 7:21 pm

adultfriendinder.com was something different, vex.

Graywolf, I’ve now had two crawl folks confirm it’s a bug on the webhost. Tell them to look at persistent connections in Apache with virtual hosting. That is, Apache supports requesting not just via virtual hosts with HTTP 1.1, but also doing a persistent connection to grab pages from domain1.com and domain2.com in the same connection. The webhost didn’t set it up correctly. Looks like the webhost was running Apache 1.3.7, so maybe they could upgrade their Apache.

Administrator May 8, 2006 at 8:21 pm

Matt thanks I really appreciate the info. Here’s the thing that’s kind of distressing, this kind of thing could clearly cause “issues” for joe webmaster, how would they ever know, know what to look for and know what to get on their hosts case about? Are there indicators and tools that regular people have access to? How about a “looking at webcrawling and common problems” post on your blog?

Chris Barnett May 8, 2006 at 11:46 pm

Hi,

http://www.pawlakfuneralhome.com looks like it is running on a rebranded Sphera VDS platform. This is a known issue that heavily affects name based VDS’s on the Sphera platform. The others, *might* be running on Sphera – some users remove their manager page on the VDS and go into their control panel by another route.

Please have a look at
google.com/group/google-sitemaps/browse_frm/thread/ac06a0ab2fa543fb?tvc=1″ target=”_blank”>http://groups.google.com/group/google-sitemaps/browse_frm/thread/ac06a0ab2fa543fb?tvc=1

Guillaume June 6, 2006 at 5:57 am

Hi,
I’ve the same problem and my provider tells me that the problem is coming from the SPHERA web hosting software. Apparently SPHERA can’t help them and doesn’t give support for this problem.
I’m going to forward Matt’s comments (May 8th, 2006 at 7:21 pm) to see if they can do something…

Fred Light July 18, 2006 at 2:26 pm

Have had exactly the same issue. Since “Big Daddy”, my domain RudyMayer.com is now showing up as dwellings.com/rudymayer/

In addition, another [competitors] site hosted on the same server, JimMillerSellsHomes.com is coming up as dwellings.com/miller/

To make it worse, these two real estate agents are competitors in the same town, yet the main search result is for one agent, the secondary result indented underneath is for a different agent. Not good.

In addition, another site on the same server, Roslindale.net has completely REPLACED RudyMayer.com for a search under Nashua NH Real Estate. However, that Roslindale site isn’t even a real estate site, nor is it located in the same state. It is COMPLETELY and totally unrelated, yet resides on the same server. It shouldn’t come up on page 5,000,000 for Nashua NH real estate, let alone as the TOP result. Something is funky with Google. It’s hurting business for customers, and completely diluting Google’s search results – not good for Google either. I have written them dozens of times, with no response. Very frustrating.

Comments on this entry are closed.