Hey Network Solutions Sniffing Domain Searches By Chance …

Michael Gray

By Michael Gray
In Grayhat SEO  

Print Post Print Post Email Post Email Post    ADD TO STUMBLEUPON Sphinn It ADD TO DEL.ICIO.US  Tweet This

People have been making accusations that domain companies have been sniffing customers searches for quite some time now. No one has any hard conclusive proof, but you have to admit it’s hard to make a case why network solutions might have registered this one, check out the whois

http://www.youguysseriouslyregistereverythingisearch.com/

Popularity: 21% [?]

Related posts:

  1. Hey Google Can We Get a Clear Cloaking and First Click Free Explanation One of the
  2. Domain Diversity in Google SERP’s For Breaking News One of my
  3. Hey Robert Scoble and Seth Godin Did You Forget Something So Seth Go

Crazyegg Link Tracking

{ 13 comments }

Rich January 9, 2008 at 1:06 am

Hahahaa… that is hilarious. NSI you suck big time.

Try: http://www.domainfrontrunningisacrime.com/
or… http://www.boycottnsi.com/

or… try your own people!!!!

JLH January 9, 2008 at 1:17 am

I tested it myself, and found the exact same thing. See my test.

Mitch at Money News January 9, 2008 at 1:25 am

It was on Slashdot today too. Network Solutions has posted an official response about it from their VP Jonathon Nevvet.

Article link is here:
http://www.circleid.com/posts/81082_network_solutions_front_running/

Eish January 9, 2008 at 4:30 am

So in the article they basically saying they protect us from front runners…by front running…wtf?

rishil January 9, 2008 at 9:24 am

Thie statement is absolute rubbish – the only way runners would know what we searched for in theior domain search tool is if Network Solutions released searches – unless I am missing a trick here?

They are just stopping you from searching using their tool, but registering the domain elsewhere…

Mitch at Money News January 9, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Try checking for those domains in 5 or 6 days time via another registrar. I don’t really agree to it, but we can also double check if they are telling the truth about it.

rumblepup January 9, 2008 at 3:19 pm

I’ve completely been hosed. Checked a domain yesterday, today it’s gone. My protection? Bah. Their exorbitant price protection. I would love to use their product, if it was more fairly priced. To really have fun with them, I did a few other whois searches. This should be fun.

Oliver January 10, 2008 at 7:23 am

It didn’t happen to me. i tried a german sentence and it’s still free. maybe they have stopped this completely inacceptable method?

Alex January 11, 2008 at 11:44 am

After reading this post I went and tried to register “NetworkSolutionsBlowsGoats.com” and it was avail. Now of course Friday rolls around and guess who owns it?

Gab "SEO ROI" Goldenberg January 14, 2008 at 3:41 pm

Copy-paste from the whois, so that when it drops the record will still be around.

Whois Record for Youguysseriouslyregistereverythingisearch.com
( You Guys Seriously Register Everything I Search )

ICANN Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
Created: 2008-01-08
Expires: 2009-01-08
Registrar Status: clientTransferProhibited
Name Server: NS1.SONICSEARCHSPIDER.INFO (has 129 domains)
Name Server: NS2.SONICSEARCHSPIDER.INFO
Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com

Registrant Search: “Campbell, Susan” owns about 13 other domains
Email Search: is associated with about 12 domains
IP History: 1 change on 2 unique name servers over 0 years.
Whois History: 5 records have been archived since 2008-01-08.
Reverse IP: 127 other sites hosted on this server.
Monitor Domain: [Monitor this domain] Set Free Alerts on youguysseriouslyregistereverythingisearch.com

Gab "SEO ROI" Goldenberg January 14, 2008 at 3:42 pm

Copy-paste from the whois, so that when it drops the record will still be around.

Whois Record for Youguysseriouslyregistereverythingisearch.com
( You Guys Seriously Register Everything I Search )

ICANN Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
Created: 2008-01-08
Expires: 2009-01-08
Registrar Status: clientTransferProhibited
Name Server: NS1.SONICSEARCHSPIDER.INFO (has 129 domains)
Name Server: NS2.SONICSEARCHSPIDER.INFO
Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com

Registrant Search: “Campbell, Susan” owns about 13 other domains
Email Search: is associated with about 12 domains
IP History: 1 change on 2 unique name servers over 0 years.
Whois History: 5 records have been archived since 2008-01-08.
Reverse IP: 127 other sites hosted on this server.
Monitor Domain: [Monitor this domain] Set Free Alerts on youguysseriouslyregistereverythingisearch.com

What’s really funny is that F***NetworkSolutions.com is parked at GoDaddy. Zing!

Jake January 18, 2008 at 11:22 am

Had to try it out myself. Searched for “WeLikeLittleBoys.com”, started a new browser session, and it’s now available for $34.99. Somebody call Dateline on these guys and have the “To Catch a Predator” crew inquire about this one:

Domain Name: WELIKELITTLEBOYS.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Network Solutions, LLC
13681 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 300
HERNDON, VA 20171
US
1-888-642-9675 fax: 571-434-4620

Record expires on 18-Jan-2009.
Record created on 18-Jan-2008.

Mitch at Money News January 18, 2008 at 5:16 pm

@ Jake – Haha, Now that’s a way to get them banned from that. Every start searching for pedofile domains at network solutions.

Comments on this entry are closed.